A newer version of this documentation is available.

View Latest

Views

The Views section allows you to manage your development and production views.

You can access the View section in two ways:

  • Click Data Buckets  Views, or

  • Select the Views tab on the main Couchbase Web Console panel.

The individual elements of this interface are:

Dropdown list on the top left

Allows you to select the data bucket to view.

Create Development Spatial View

Enables you to create a new spatial function either within the current design document or a new document.

Create Development View

Enables you to create a new view either within the current design document or a new document.

You can switch between Production Views and Development Views.

Views screen

The final section provides a list of the design documents and each defined view within each document.

Development views

When viewing Development Views, you can perform the following actions:

Compact

Compact the view index with an associated design document. This action compacts the view index and recovers space used to store the view index on the disk.

Delete

Delete a design document. This action deletes all of the views defined within the design document.

Add View

Add View creates a new view for the corresponding design document.

Publish

Publish your design document (and all of the defined views) as a production design document.

For each view listed, you can:

Edit

Clicking on Edit or clicking the view name opens the view editor for the current view name.

Delete

Deletes an individual view.

Production views

When viewing Production Views you can perform the following operations on each design document:

Compact

Compact the view index with an associated design document. This action will compact the view index and recover space used to store the view index on the disk.

Delete

Delete a design document. This action will delete all of the views defined within the design document.

Copy to Dev

Copy to Dev copies the view definition to the development area of the view editor. This action enables you to edit the view definition. Once you have finished making changes, click the Publish button if you want to overwrite the existing view definition.

For each view, you can:

Show

By clicking the view name or the Show button, execute and examine the results of a production view.