Removing a server
Removing a node marks the node for removal from the cluster.
If you remove a node that is running one of the services, it will have the following result:
Removing a node does not stop the node from servicing requests. Instead, it only marks the node as ready for removal from the cluster. You must perform a rebalance operation to complete the removal process. Once a node is removed, it is no longer part of the cluster and can be switched off, updated, or upgraded.
|Before you remove a node from the cluster, ensure that you have the capacity within the remaining nodes to handle the workload. For the best results, use the swap rebalance.|
Occasionally, during an online upgrade if all old nodes are removed from the cluster, clients may no longer know about any nodes and fail to connect. To prevent such problems, make sure that you provide one of the following solutions: