Change Bucket Settings
Full, Cluster and Bucket Administrators can edit bucket settings using the Change Bucket Settings option.
For more information about these settings, see Create a New Bucket.
- To change the bucket settings using the Couchbase Web Console
Under Data Buckets, click the blue triangle preceding the bucket name.
Once a bucket is created, you can update the following settings:
Per Node RAM Quota
The amount of RAM allocated per-node to this bucket. If lowering this setting, the provided value can’t be lower than the amount of memory currently used by the bucket on any of the nodes in your cluster. This setting takes effect immediately.
Cache Metadata Ejection Policy
The ejection policy used by a bucket, the two different policies are discussed in Tunable Memory with Ejection Policy.
Changing the ejection policy will invoke a bucket restart, resulting in temporary inaccessibility of data while the bucket warms up.
The authentication policy used by a bucket, if changing this setting you should ensure that all client applications are aware of the new authentication credentials.
Number of Replicas
The replication factor of a bucket can be changed at any time, although a rebalance will be required after changing this setting to redistribute the correct number of replica items across the cluster.
Disk I/O Optimization
The I/O workload priority of a bucket can be changed at any time after the bucket has been created.
Changing the I/O priority will invoke a bucket restart, resulting in temporary inaccessibility of data while the bucket warms up.
The auto-compaction settings to override the cluster-wide settings as discussed in Auto-compaction Settings.
This setting enables or disables the Flush command for this bucket, can be changed at any time.
After the bucket creation, you cannot change the following settings:
Bucket Name - Once created, the bucket name cannot be changed.
Bucket Type - Once a
couchbasebucket has been created, its type cannot be changed.
View index replicas - View index replicas cannot be enabled/disabled once a bucket has been created.