---
title: Drop a Bucket
description: Full, Cluster, and Bucket Administrators can drop a bucket.
pubDate: 2026-08-17T09:53:44.266Z
antora:
  editUrl: https://github.com/couchbase/docs-server/edit/release/8.0/modules/manage/pages/manage-buckets/delete-bucket.adoc
  xref: xref:server:manage:manage-buckets/delete-bucket.adoc[]
---

[Consult the llms.txt file for a full list of contents](/llms.txt)
[View original HTML](/server/current/manage/manage-buckets/delete-bucket.html)

# Drop a Bucket

> Full, Cluster, and Bucket Administrators can drop a bucket. 

## [](#dropping-a-bucket)Dropping a Bucket

Dropping a bucket may be appropriate either when an existing bucket is no longer needed; or when all items within an existing bucket need to be replaced — and the dropping of the bucket (followed by bucket-recreation) is determined to constitute a faster process than the deletion of each individual item.

Note that _dropping_ a bucket means deleting the bucket, all its documents, and all the scopes and collections into which the documents were organized.

To drop a bucket using Couchbase Web Console: access the console, and left-click on the **Buckets** tab, in the vertical navigation-bar at the left-hand side.

![accessBucketTab](manage-buckets/accessBucketTab.png) 

The **Buckets** screen now appears, showing the buckets that have already been defined for your system:

![bucketsViewInitialEdit](../_images/manage-buckets/bucketsViewInitialEdit.png) 

To delete a particular bucket, left-click on the bucket's row in the UI; then, when the **Drop** button appears, left-click on it:

![accessDropButton](../_images/manage-buckets/accessDropButton.png) 

A confirmation-dialog is now provided, by means of which you can now either cancel the dropping of the bucket, or elect to proceed:

![dropBucketWarning](../_images/manage-buckets/dropBucketWarning.png) 

If you elect to proceed, by left-clicking on the **Drop Bucket** button, the bucket and all its data, scopes, and collections are deleted from the system; and the bucket is no longer represented within the **Buckets** screen of Couchbase Web Console.

## [](#using-the-cli-and-rest-api)Using the CLI and REST API

You can also delete a bucket by using the CLI command [bucket-delete](../../cli/cbcli/couchbase-cli-bucket-delete.md), or the REST API method [rest-bucket-delete](../../rest-api/rest-bucket-delete.md).

## [](#bucket-deletion-and-rbac)Bucket-Deletion and RBAC

User-access to buckets is controlled by _Role-Based Access Control_ (RBAC). See [Authorization](../../learn/security/authorization-overview.md) for details.

Note that roles assigned to users may contain privileges for accessing specfic buckets by name. If such a bucket is deleted, all role-assignments to that resource are deleted from the cluster. If a user whose sole permission is **Bucket Admin** on a single bucket uses Couchbase Web Console to delete that bucket, the user is logged out of the console on bucket-deletion, and cannot log back in.