You are viewing the documentation for a prerelease version.

View Latest

Delete a Reference

Deleting an XDCR reference ensures that the previously specified remote cluster and bucket are no longer available to receive replicated data.

Examples on This Page

The examples in the subsections below show how to delete a replication; using the UI, the CLI, and the REST API respectively. As their starting-point, the examples assume the scenario that concluded the page Delete a Replication.

Delete an XDCR Reference with the UI

Proceed as follows:

  1. Access Couchbase Web Console. Left-click on the XDCR tab, in the left-hand navigation menu.

    left click on xdcr tab

    This brings up the XDCR Replications screen. The upper panel, Remote Clusters, features a single reference, as follows:

    xdcr replications screen with reference
  2. To delete the reference, left-click on the row for the reference. When the Delete button appears, left-click on it:

    left click on delete replication tab

    The following confirmation dialog is now displayed:

    xdcr confirm delete reference
  3. Left-click on Delete Reference, to confirm. The Remote Clusters panel now reappears, showing no replications:

    xdcr replications screen initial

The reference has now been deleted.

Delete an XDCR Reference with the CLI

From the starting-point defined above, in Examples on This Page, use the xdcr-setup command to delete an XDCR reference, specifying the --delete and --xdcr-cluster-name flags, as follows:

couchbase-cli xdcr-setup -c 10.142.180.101 \
-u Administrator \
-p password \
--delete \
--xdcr-cluster-name 10.142.180.102

If successful, this returns the following:

SUCCESS: Cluster reference deleted

The reference has been deleted.

Delete an XDCR Reference with the REST API

From the starting-point defined above, in Examples on This Page, use the REST API to delete an XDCR reference as follows:

curl -X DELETE -u Administrator:password \
http://10.142.180.101:8091/pools/default/remoteClusters/10.142.180.102

If successful, this returns "ok": the reference has been deleted.

Next Steps

A replication can be configured securely. See Secure a Replication.