Manage Organization Users

    +
    Invite users to an organization and manage their roles within the organization.

    View and Manage Organization Users From the Capella UI

    All users in an organization can be viewed and managed from the Users tab in the main navigation. A summary of all users is displayed in a table format.

    The 'Users' tab showing a table of multiple users, including both Couchbase Capella users and Database users, some with a Status of Verified and some with a status of Pending.

    Users Summary

    The Users tab shows a summary of all users that have been added to the organization.

    The user summary displays the following information about each user:

    Name

    The name and email address of the user. This column is sorted based on Full Name.

    Email Status

    The invitation status of the user.

    • Verified: The invitee has accepted the invitation.

    • Pending: The invitee has not yet accepted the inivitation.

    Roles

    The type of organization role(s) assigned to the account:

    If a user has multiple roles, you might see an entry in the Roles column that contains a number. This number indicates the number of additional roles that are not shown. Hover your cursor over this number to show a tooltip that lists all the roles assigned to the user.

    A Trash icon displayed at the end of each row can be used to remove a user from the organization.

    Add/Invite Users to an Organization

    To add users to your organization, you must have the Organization Owner role. You must also have the email address of the person you plan to invite.

    1. From the Users tab, click Add Users.

      This opens the Add Users fly-out menu.

    2. Enter the user details.

      In the Add Users fly-out menu, configure the following:

      Name

      Enter the name of the user that you’re inviting to your organization. This will be the name that other users will see in the Couchbase Capella UI.

      If the user’s email address is already associated with a Capella account, the name that you specify here will be replaced with the name that the account currently uses.
      Email

      Enter the user’s email address. This email address is where the invitation is sent, and the user will also use it to log into Capella.

      Organization Roles

      Choose one or more organization roles for the user.

    3. After configuring all of the required fields, click Add User.

      After adding a user, Capella sends that user an email inviting them to join the organization. An invited user is shown in the Users tab with a status of Pending until they accept their invitation. Once they accept the invitation, their status shows Verified.

      A pending user cannot access anything in the organization until they accept the invitation and configure their account. Invitations expire after 24 hours.

    Resend or Cancel a User’s Invitation

    If a user didn’t receive their invitation before it expired, you have the option to resend the invitation.

    1. From the Users tab, find the pending user that you wish to re-invite/cancel, and click on their name.

      Clicking on the user’s name opens the user’s fly-out menu.

    2. Next to their email address, click Resend Invite.

    Alternatively, if you no longer wish to add the user to your organization, you have the option to cancel their invitation.

    1. If you no longer wish to add the user to your organization, you can cancel their invitation by clicking Remove User.

    2. When prompted, confirm their removal from the organization and click Remove.

    Change a User’s Organization Role

    To change a user’s organization role, you must have Organization Owner organization role.

    An organization must have at least one user with the Organization Owner role at all times. If you are the only Organization Owner user, you cannot edit your own role until you grant the Organization Owner role to at least one other user.

    If you remove the Organization Owner role from a user, they lose transitive Project Owner access to all projects in their organization, but they retain any other project roles that have been granted to them.

    1. From the Users tab, find the user whose role you wish to change, and click their name.

      Clicking the user’s name opens the user’s fly-out menu.

    2. From the list of organization roles, select the roles that you want to add to the current user and deselect the roles that you want to remove.

    3. Once you’ve you’ve finished changing a user’s role, click Update.

    Remove a User (or Yourself) from an Organization

    Removing a user from an organization will remove all organization roles assigned to this user and remove their access to all projects contained in that organization.

    Use this procedure to remove either yourself or another user from an organization. To remove someone other than yourself from an organization, you must have Organization Owner privileges.

    An organization must have at least one user with the Organization Owner role at all times. If you are the only Organization Owner user, you cannot leave the organization until you grant the Organization Owner role to at least one other user.

    1. From the Users tab, find the user whom you wish to remove from the organization, and click on their name. (This can be yourself if you’re removing yourself from the organization.)

      Clicking on the user’s name opens the user’s fly-out menu.

    2. Near the top of the user’s fly-out menu, click Remove User.

      This opens the Remove fly-out menu.

    3. Confirm the removal of the user and click Remove.