Manage Project Users

    +
    Manage the members of a project to control access to Couchbase clusters.

    In Couchbase Capella, project users are users in an organization who have been added to a project and given a project role. Project roles control the level of access each member of a project has to any cluster within a project and the actions they can complete. For more information on project roles, see Project Roles.

    Accessing Project Users in the Capella UI

    Project users can be viewed and managed from the Projects tab in the main navigation by clicking the name of a project you want to manage. With the project summary open, below the project name, click the Users tab. A summary of all users part of the current project is shown here in a table format.

    The project 'Users' tab showing a table of users who are members of the current project.

    Only project members can see the project users summary. If your user has the Project Owner role, you will also see an option to add users to the project.

    Users with the Organization Owner organization role automatically have a Project Owner role for all projects in their organization, which means they can also access the users summary for any project.

    Project Users Summary

    The Users tab in the project summary shows a list of all the users assigned a role for the current project.

    This project users summary displays the following information about each user:

    Name

    The name of the user and their email address.

    Organization Roles

    The organization role(s) assigned to the user, which can include any of the following:

    Project Roles

    The project role(s) assigned to the user, which can include any of the following:

    If a user has multiple roles, you might see an entry in either or both Roles columns that contains a number. This number indicates the number of additional roles that are not shown. Hover your cursor over this number to show a tooltip that lists all the roles assigned to the user.

    A Trash icon displayed at the end of each row can be used to remove a user from the project.

    Add Users to an Existing Project

    You add users to a project after its creation. To do this, you must have the Project Owner project role for the project in question. If you created a project, then you automatically have this role.

    1. From the Projects tab, find the project that you wish to add users to and click its name.

      This opens the project summary with the Clusters tab open.

    2. Just below the project name, click the Users tab.

      This opens the project users summary.

    3. Click Add User(s) to Project

      This opens the Add User(s) to Project fly-out menu.

    4. Select users to add to the project.

      1. Click the User(s) drop-down menu to select which user(s) in the current organization you wish to add to the project.

        Clicking on this drop-down menu shows a scrolling list of all the users in your organization. If you don’t see the desired user at first, you can start typing the user’s name until they show up in the list. If the user is not yet a member of your organization, you will need to invite them to your organization before you can add them to a project.

        You can choose many users at once in the menu by clicking on each name. Keep in mind that any user you select is given the same selected project roles as a batch.

    5. Assign project roles.

      1. From the list of project roles, select those that you wish to assign to the selected user(s).

    6. When you’re ready to add the chosen user(s) and assign the selected roles, click Add User to add them to the project.

      A small notification will show that the user(s) have been successfully added to the project.

    Change a User’s Project Role

    To change a user’s project role, you must have the Project Owner project role for the project—​if you created this project you automatically have this role.

    Users with the Organization Owner role have transitive Project Owner roles for all projects in their organization. You cannot remove the Project Owner role from a user with the Organization Owner role.

    1. From the Projects tab, find the project whose users you wish to modify and click its name.

      This opens the project summary with the Clusters tab open.

    2. Just below the project name, click the Users tab.

      This opens the project users summary.

    3. Find the user whose project role you wish to change and click their name.

      This opens the Edit Project Access fly-out menu for the chosen user.

    4. From the list of project roles, select those that you wish to assign to the selected user. Deselect the roles that you want to remove.

    5. When ready to apply the project role changes, click Update.

    Remove a User (or Yourself) from a Project

    Users who have the Organization Owner user role—​who by extension have the Project Owner role for all projects in an organization—​cannot be removed entirely. Attempting to remove a user with the Organization Owner role will remove any other project roles they may have been granted, but they will still retain transitive Project Owner access.

    Use this procedure to remove either yourself or another user from a project. To remove someone other than yourself from a project, you must have the Project Owner role for the project.

    1. From the Projects tab, find the project you want to remove users from and click its name.

      This opens the project summary with the Clusters tab open.

    2. Just below the project name, click the Users tab.

      This opens the project users summary.

    3. Find the user you wish to remove and click the Trash icon at the end of their row.

      This opens the Remove User From Project fly-out menu.

    4. Confirm the delete action.

      1. Read the message to verify the correct user is selected.

      2. In the provided field, type remove.

      3. Click Remove.

        A small notification will confirm that the user has been removed from the project.